bye, july – a playlist for the remnants of the month

Russian Red – Cigarettes (radio edit)

2539524112_ca8d7c98eb

I started listening to Russian Red after hearing their cover of Girls just wanna have fun – a slow, vaguely ghostlike version that left me completely entranced and I started listening to whilst writing essays at night, always somewhat perplexed that I should be listening to Lauper’s words meant for a disco jive at 3am. Hugely recommended if you like a soft, female play on lyrics à la Feist (give Mushaboom a listen!)

No tell me what it is, it isn’t fair

‘Cause I’m wasting time, but it isn’t my heart
it isn’t my fault.
And every situation understands, well
The anecdote of chasing the location to your door,

‘Cause I’m wasting time, now I’m wasting money again
and all the cigarettes that I have never smoked
And all the letters that I have never sent, da da…

And he was sitting by the swimming pool
But he was scared, ’cause it wasn’t his time, it wasn’t his chance.
Getting older’s not been on my plans
But it’s never late, it’s never late enough for me to stay, da da…

‘Cause I’m wasting time, now I’m wasting money again
and all the cigarettes that I have never smoked
And all the letters that I have never sent, da da…

Chet Baker – There will never be another you

chet-baker-111212-download

This is the kind of thing that throws me back to my childhood – a wonderful, balanced mix of jazz instrumental solo and crooning singing, it is a somewhat unconvential reminder for me me of Carlos Santana in its first minute or so. And that means my dad roasting meat whilst dancing to him, a very smokey kitchen, and my little brother squashing almonds one by one, with a big, flat stone. If you really want to know what the (loud) soundtrack to this scenario was, put on Santana’s Smooth and imagine two kids pretending to play the initial drums with plastic forks.

There will be

Many other nights
Like this
And I’ll be
Standing here
With someone new
There will be
Other songs to sing
Another fall
Another spring
But there
Will never be
Another you

There will be
Other lips
That I may kiss
But they
Won’t thrill me
Like yours used to do
Yes
I may dream
A million dreams
But how
Can they come true
If there
Will never ever
Be another you?

There will be
Many other
Nigths like this
And I’ll be
Standing here
With someone new
There will be
Other songs to sing
Another fall
Another spring
But there
Will never be
Another you

There will be
Other lips
That I may kiss
But they
Won’t thrill me
Like yours used to do
Yes
I may dream
A million dreams
But how
Can they come true
If there will never
Ever be another you?

The Zutons – Valerie

maxresdefault

This may come as a shock for some of you – it did for me!- but it turns out Amy Winehouse’s beautiful song is in fact a cover of this very rock’n’roll 2009 piece. As much as I dislike comparisons between original songs and their covers,as in some cases the latter ends up being ‘done’ in a much more sophisticated manner (I think Iron and Wine did a much better job of Such Great Heights than The Postal Service did, for example), I have to say I love the original as much as its more famous cousin of a cover in this case.

Well sometimes I go out by myself and I look across the water 

And I think of all the things, what you’re doing and in my head I make a picture

‘Cos since I’ve come on home, well my body’s been a mess
And I’ve missed your ginger hair and the way you like to dress
Won’t you come on over, stop making a fool out of me
Why won’t you come on over Valerie, Valerie?

Did you have to go to jail, put your house on up for sale, did you get a good lawyer?
I hope you didn’t catch a tan, I hope you find the right man who’ll fix it for you
Are you shopping anywhere, changed the colour of your hair, are you busy?
And did you have to pay the fine you were dodging all the time are you still dizzy?

‘Cos since I’ve come on home, well my body’s been a mess
And I’ve missed your ginger hair and the way you like to dress
Won’t you come on over, stop making a fool out of me
Why won’t you come on over Valerie, Valerie.Valerie,Valerie?

Mac Demarco – Salad Days

MacDeMarcoRain1_DannyCohen_800

So very catchy is all. a good one for lazy afternoons and for flicking through things without really reading them. a bit of an even more attempting alternative than Paolo Nutini (who reaches peak catchy in Pencil full of lead in my view).

As I’m getting older, chip up on my shoulder
Rolling through life, to roll over and die

Missing hippy Jon, salad days are gone
Remembering things just to tell ‘em so long

Oh mama, actin’ like my life’s already over
Oh dear, act your age and try another year

Always feeling tired, smiling when required
Write another year off and kindly resign

Salad days are gone, missing hippy Jon
Remembering things just to tell ‘em so long

Oh mama, actin’ like my life’s already over
Oh dear, act your age and try another year 

Oasis – She’s Electric

Oasis-93

It’s the last day of July..  and you need a mood lifter, possibly a bit of 90s – what better than Oasis? I find that the best thing about this group, other than the fact that it bears no expiry date, is their ability to write both some really good ballads, and also some uplifting, very lively rocky songs. Champagne Supernova belongs to the first category, this to the latter – ideal for blasting in the car during a drive, and any situation you want to belt your lungs out.  Give this cover of Queen’s Crazy litte thing called love by Maroon 5 a listen too if you’re in that kind of mood (but don’t forget how incredible the original version performed live is, either – you can listen to it here, and watch Freddie thrust his hips to his heart’s content. Stage presence or what).

She’s electric
She’s in a family full of eccentrics
She done things I never expected
And I need more time
She’s got a sister
And god only knows how I’ve missed her
On the palm of her hand is a blister
And I need more time

And I want you to know
I’ve got my mind made up now
But I need more time
And I want you to say
Do you know what I’m saying?
But I need more ….
Coz I’ll be you and you’ll be me
There’s lots and lots for us to see
There’s lots and lots for us to do
She is electric, can I be electric too?

She’s got a brother
We don’t get on with one another
But I quite fancy her mother
And I think that she likes me
She’s got a cousin
In fact she’s got ’bout a dozen
She’s got one in the oven
But it’s nothing to do with me

And I want you to know
I’ve got my mind made up now
But I need more time
And I want you to say
Do you know what I’m saying?
But I need more ….
Coz I’ll be you and you’ll be me
There’s lots and lots for us to see
There’s lots and lots for us to do
She is electric, can I be electric too?

Leave a Reply

