autumn acoustics – a playlist for October

Autumn Leaves – Paolo Nutini

I sometimes hate Paolo Nutini. He writes crooning tunes that leave me wanting to him listen to the upbeat rhythm that seems more typical of his (see Jenny Don’t Be Hasty). I constantly pray he may not fall into the Michael Buble error of trying to improve classics (covering Sinatra and Cohen could easily backfire; any cover different than the original I’m Your Man, is, let’s face it, just not something that should be done). But this time round, he nails it – with a combination of  classic drawl and personal touches (find out more here).

Autumn leaves under frozen souls
Hungry hands turning soft and old
My hero crying as we stood out there in the cold
Like these autumn leaves I don’t have nothing to hold

Handsome smiles wearing handsome shoes
Too young to say, though I swear he knew
And I hear him singing while he sits there in his chair
While these autumn leaves float around everywhere

And I look at you, and I see me
Making noise so restlessly
But now it’s quiet and I can hear you sing
‘My little fish don’t cry, my little fish don’t cry’

Autumn leaves have faded now
That smile I lost, well I’ve found somehow
Because you still live on in my father’s eyes
These autumn leaves, all these autumn leaves
All these autumn leaves are yours tonight

 

 

The Wedding Song – Angus & Julia Stone

Angus-Julia-Stone-1-©Jennifer-Steinglen-620x412

Angus and Julia Stone are the best duo of our times along with First Aid Kit, I believe. More than just a first dance song, Julia reaches octaves here that put shivers down anyone’s spine; it’s the kind of song that could have been distorted into a terrible pop medley had it not been snatched up beforehand . The most beautiful thing about it? It doesn’t sound live, until you hear the final applause.

I wholeheartedly recommend both a further taste of the Stone siblings via And The Boys , as well as an initiation of First Aid Kit listening with their gorgeous A Long Time Ago – or if you prefer something livelier, their best known song, Emmylou.

We’re gonna build a life together
You and I for ever and ever
And we’ll, we’ll make babies on the beach

Under the stardust
And I’ll hear your voice come through the door
A thousand times, maybe more
And I’ll smile inside to know you’re mine
Completely
Do you know how lovely you are?
In the starlight, in the starlight of my heart
Do you know how lovely you are?
In the moonlight, in the moonlight of my heart We’re gonna build a home together
You and I, for ever and ever
And we’ll, we’ll make babies on a beach
Under the stardust
And I’ll hear your voice come through the door
A thousand times, maybe more
And I’ll smile inside to know you’re mine
Completely And I’ll wind up every day
Thinking about the way you make me feel
When your lips touch my lips
And I’d crawl inside a cave
Or live somewhere strange
As long as I’m with you
I have got what I need We are gonna build a life together
You and I for ever and ever
And we’ll, we’ll make babies on the beach
Under the stardust
And I’ll hear your voice come through the door
A thousand times, maybe more
And I’ll smile inside to know you’re mine
Completely mine

 

A Sunday Kind Of Love – Etta James

maxresdefault
Etta James is without a doubt my favourite blues singer. Best known for the classic slow dance that is At Last, and shadowed perhaps by the likes of Billie Holiday and Aretha Franklin, she is a wonderfully honest lyric writer – and this very honesty seeps through every song she writes (All I Can Do Is Cry, anyone?).  The jazzy build up to her lyrics, the power swelling through every prolongued lyric of hers is the stuff of dreams.  Best listened to waltzing around your living room.

I want a Sunday kind of love
A love to last past Saturday night
And I’d like to know
It’s more than love at first sight
And I want a Sunday kind of love
Oh yeah, yeah I want a, a love that’s on the square
Can’t seem to find somebody
Someone to care
And I’m on a lonely road
That leads to nowhere
I need a Sunday kind of love I do my Sunday dreaming, oh yeah
And all my Sunday scheming
Every minute, every hour, every day
Oh, I’m hoping to discover
A certain kind of lover
Who will show me the way And my arms need someone
Someone to enfold
To keep me warm when Mondays and Tuesdays grow cold
Love for all my life to have and to hold
Oh and I want a Sunday kind of love
Oh yeah, yeah, yeah I don’t want a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday
Or Thursday, Friday or Saturday
Oh nothing but Sunday, oh yeah
I want a Sunday Sunday
I want a Sunday kind of love, oh yeah
Sunday, Sunday, Sunday kind of love

Teach Your Children Well – Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

crosby-stills-nash--young-4e477f07675d1

CSY&N  generally tend to constantly remind of a song played more or less 24/7  (Crosby, Stills, Young and Nash – Suite: Judy Blue Eyes  ) in my first year at university by my friends Alastair and David; mid “radio project”, it was a permanent feature on their playlist. I used to find it incredibly irritating, but after a while, I began to appreciate its Ohrwurm quality (my new favourite German word: a worm you cannot get out of your ear; a catchy tune). That’s when I started listening to CSY&N – and I’ve never been more grateful for an annoying tune.

You, who are on the road must have a code that you can live by.
And so become yourself because the past is just a good bye.
Teach your children well, their father’s hell did slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix, the one you’ll know by.
Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

And you, of the tender years can’t know the fears that your elders grew by,
And so please help them with your youth, they seek the truth before they can die.
Teach your parents well, their children’s hell will slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams, the one they fix,the one you’ll know by.
Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you, you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh and know they love you.

Leaves That Are Green – Simon & Garfunkel

SG

This is very much a regular on my “essaycrisis” Spotify playlist. A gorgeous, soft tune I listen to mid scribbling, it’s certainly perfect for the autumn mood, and Simon & Garfunkel’s lyric writing skills really are something else.

I was twenty-one years when I wrote this song
I’m twenty-two now but I won’t be for long
Time hurries on

And the leaves that are green turned to brown
And they wither with the wind
And they crumble in your hand

Once my heart was filled with the love of a girl
I held her close but she faded in the night
Like a poem I meant to write

And the leaves that are green turned to brown
And they wither with the wind
And they crumble in your hand

I threw a pebble in a brook
And watched the ripples run away
And they never made a sound

And the leaves that are green turned to brown
And they wither with the wind
And they crumble in your hand

Hello, hello, hello, hello
Good-bye, good-bye, good-bye, good-bye
That’s all there is
And the leaves that are green turned to brown

Leave a Reply

