A music questionnaire

Just for fun.

Your favourite song  

I have always loved this song, ever since I watched Juno. But I didn’t realise how much better the Bowie version was compared to Mott the Hoople until a couple of years ago – it always cheers me up.

 

Your least favourite song

I’ve heard this song too many times while travelling by car, and I find its rhythm somewhat anxiety inducing. Lyrics are amazingly banal. Conte went downhill with this.

 

A song that makes you happy

Another Juno originated discovery!

 

A song that makes you sad

I’ve always thought most of Regina Spekor’s songs are made even sadder by the occasional humour injected into them, this is one of them

 

A song that reminds you of someone

C-oh-ddles

 

A song that reminds you of somewhere

I used to play this in my room in first year at university while I put make up on about to go out – it always reminds me of that.

 

A song that reminds you of a certain event

An evening in Caldonazzo with this being blasted on guitars and in my ears makes this the first German song I ever heard. I was even plagued by it while on a date.

 

A song that you know all the words to

I could probably sing along to most Killers songs.

 

A song that you can dance to

This is contagious

 

A song that makes you fall asleep or you fall asleep to

I don’t actually like this song that much but it does always get me to sleep…

 

A song from your favourite band

The one and only

 

A song from a band you hate

Wannabe Beatles. Hate how they continue to tour & be centre of attention, too.

 

 A song that is a guilty pleasure

I have to be honest.

 

A song that no one would expect you to love

Ha.

 

A song that describes you

 

 

A song that you used to love and now hate

Overplayed and overused in tweenie’s Facebook captions, statuses, album names…

 

A song that you hear often on the radio

This is an enjoyable tune but it does seem to be on the radio a lot.

 

A song that you wish you heard on the radio

Amy always has been underrated – I never heard the Hidden Treasures being played publically, and it’s a real shame, as some of those recordings are her best work.

 

A song from your favourite album

I think I was about thirteen when I bought Dear Catastrophe Waitress and it’s one of the few I never got sick of. B&S have a really good way with words (I wish I had two paths that I could follow/I’d write the ending without any sorrow – I love that line)

 

A song you listen to when you’re angry

More Juno music (it’s a fantastic soundtrack). This is so 80s angry Brit kid, yet still relevant, I love it.

 

A song you listen to when you’re content

Most of First Aid Kit. Apt name.

 

A song you listen to when you’re sad

I never got to grips with the plot behind the lyrics but Regina’s voice always makes me a bit sniffly.

 

A song you want to play at your wedding

Please don’t tease. Of When Harry Met Sally fame.

 

A song that you want to play at your funeral

This is a bit morbid. I’ll have to think about it. I used to think it was Blackbird by the Beatles but everyone seems to say that, so probably not.

A song that makes you laugh

Edoardo and I have watched The Full Monty too often, putting on ridiculous Sheffield accents and quoting most of the script. The entire soundtrack to that film always makes me snicker. I think this song, though, overplayed in car journeys, dragged out in singing (You must thiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiink, all that I dooooooooo…) and turned into some kind of weirdly hilarious in-joke, has to win the prize.

 

A song you discovered through a friend

Meraud and I were sat in her living room when she put this on and told me about an astronaut disappearing into space – that’s when me and Ed begged Dad to let us listen to David Bowie CDs on his shelf that we had previously always ignored. We were pretty young, and Bowie was maybe a bit of a “mature / controversial” choice, but we adored him (I cried when he died, as following this first song, the rest of his music really did strike many chords with me and shape my teenage years – I was almost honoured to be alive at the same time of the few remaining musical legends was, it was a blow).

 

A song with a great music video

Look, we’re all thinking it.

 

A song that relaxes you

Someone posted a video of themselves playing this on guitar on Instagram and I couldn’t stop listening to it.

 

A song from your childhood

We LOVED dancing to this as kids, and playing it very loudly while lunch was being cooked, especially in the summer. Steffy in particular would enthusiastically bang his fists on his buggy and the whole thing would shake. It always puts me in a good mood.

 

Favourite song this time last year

I didn’t have Internet this time last year and wasn’t listening to much at all…

A song you would sing at a karaoke night

I like this song, it’s quite brazen.

 

 

A song you never get sick of hearing

I get sick of everything at some point, but I think it’ll be a while til I’m sick of Damien Rice’s Coconut Skins.

 

A song that makes you think of a sibling

The Beach Boys’ Barbara Ann was a song that Edo especially thought was the best thing ever. He LOVED it and would not stop dancing around and laughing until it had been played at least three or four times.

A song you find annoying

This is a very easy question to answer. Almost the entire soundtrack to The Blues Brothers. My family developed an obsession for the CD at some point, meaning I can barely face listening to it more frequently than once  a year.

Your favourite rap song

I really don’t like rap, but this song, if it does qualify as rap, is just great.

 

Most listened to song on your Spotify 

 

Favourite song from the 60s

THANK YOU CAROLE KING FOR GIFTING US WITH THIS GEM AND GETTING ARETHA TO SING IT INSTEAD OF YOU.

 

Favourite song from the 70s

 

Favourite song from the 90s

I am not sorry.

 

 

A song that evokes bad memories

 

A song from a favourite movie

I love this version of White Christmas from Love Actually, it’s the best I think I’ve heard so far. I especially love the background band / interludes.

A song you wouldn’t want to sing at a karaoke night

For obvious reasons…

 

 

Best duet song

Sorry Adele.

 

A song that reminds you of school days

Hmmm. I guess most 2000s “disco music”, I can’t really think of one single song – not much of a loss as there wasn’t much good music in that mix! It was more than anything commercial stuff played at parties.

A song you sing in the shower

Whatever I listened to most recently.

A song that has a good beat

 

A song from a band no one you know has heard of

Why has no one heard of them?!

 

A song that gives you an eargasm

!!!

 

A song you can relate to 

Although I do not relate to “Angus, Thongs and Full frontal snogging” which is the tragic film most people recognise this song from.

 

A song with lyrics you can’t understand

Seriously, half the time I really cba to google what Sigur Ros is actually saying.

 

A song with no words

This is a fantastic jazzy tune, part of the Midnight in Paris soundtrack – I listened to it  when I went to Paris and was sat in the RER B heading into town

 

Best singer & songwriter song 

Ah it has to be this one. Forget your perfect offering, there is a crack in everything.. oh my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

